

# The Royal Gazette.

Vol. 34.]

FREDERICTON, N. B., WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 9, 1876.

[PAGE 328

Official Notifications appearing in this Paper, duly authenticated, are to be received as such by the persons whom they may concern



### BY AUTHORITY.

By His Honor The Honorable Samuel Leonard
Tilley, C. B., Lieutenant Governor of the
Province of New Brunswick.

S. L. TILLEY.

A PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS the General Assembly of this Province stands prorogued to Thursday the third day of August instant, I have thought fit further to prorogue the said General Assembly, and the same is hereby prorogued accordingly to Thursday the fourteenth day of September next.

Given under my Hand and Seal at Fredericton, the second day of August, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and seventy six, and in the fortieth year of Her Majesty's Reign.

By Command of the Lieutenant Governor.

JNO. JAS. FRASER.

#### COMMERCIAL. No. 7 (1876).

DECLARATION prolonging the duration of the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation between Her Majesty and the King of Italy of the 6th of August, 1863.

Signed at Rome May 22, 1876.

Whereas the Treaty of Commerce and Navigation between Great Britain and Italy of the 6th August, 1863, would cease to be in force on the 26th June, 1876, in consequence of a denunciation made by the Italian Government, and the two Governments having recognized the utility of prolonging its duration, the Undersigned, duly authorized to this effect, have agreed to declare as follows:—

The Treaty of Commerce and Navigation between Great Britain and Italy of the 6th August, 1863, will continue to remain in force until the 30th April, 1877.

In faith of which they have signed the present Declaration, made in duplicate and have affixed their seals.

Done at Rome, on the 22nd of May, 1876.

[L. S.] A. B. PAGET. [L. S.] MELEGARI.

# PROVINCIAL APPOINTMENTS.

ALEXANDER M'RAE, John Stewart, Joseph M'Almen, Chesley Anderson, James M. Reid, Isaiah Tingley, Asa Steeves, John R. Russell, James Wright, David Cleveland, Chambers Gaskin, Joseph Ilaley, John Kervar, John Haslam, Samuel J. Calhoun, and John Colpitts, Esquires, to be Justices of the Peace for the County of Albert.

John Wallace, Hillsborough; Hon. Abner R. M'Clelan, Hope-well; Alexander W. Leeman, Coverdale; William P. Robinson, Elgin; Joseph W. Turner, Harvey; and David Cleveland, Alma; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts in the County of Albert.

William W. Hammond, James Simonson, George W. White. Matthew Hutchinson, Amos H. Hayward, John Scott, John Simpson, and Charles R. Upton, to be Justices of the Peace for the County of Carleton.

William W. Hammond, Woodstock; James Simonson. Wakefield; Ivory Kilburn, Richmond: George W. White, Wilmot; Matthew Hutchinson, Wicklow; James A. Phillips, Kent; James Bridges, Peel; Amos H. Hayward, Brighton; John Simpson, Aberdeen; Charles R. Upton, Simonds; and George Stickney, Northampton; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts in the County of Carleton.

Charles Simpson and Solomon Thorne to be Justices of the Peace for the County of Queen's.

Charles Simpson, Gagetown; Thomas Leonard. Petersville; George J. Worden, Wickham; Isaac C. Burpee, Chipman; Nathaniel B. Cottle, Cambridge; Carey Estabrooks, Canning; Solomon Thorne, Brunswick; Benjamin S. Palmer, Hampstead; George E. M'Lean, Waterborough; Thomas Hetherington, Johnston; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts for the County of Queen's.

David Sadler, Dalhousie; John M'Millan, Colborne; William Mott, Addington; and Andrew Harvie, Durham; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts for the County of Restigouche.

Denis O. Bourgoin, St. Leonard; Henry Gagnon, St. Basil; George A. Bois, Madawaska; and Remi S. Pellitier, St. Francis; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts for the County of Madawaska.

John Swan, Archibald Charters, William Hay, and Samuel Wilkinson, to be Justices of the Peace for the County of York.

Fidele Savoy to be a Member of the Board of Health. under Act 13th Vic. cap. 18, in the room of A. C. Smith, Esq., M. D., who has left the Province.

Frederick W. Brown, Grand Falls; H. Peters Peterson, Drummond: Moses Craig, Perth; Adam J. Beveridge, Gordon; Joseph Barnes, Andover; and William Everitt, Lorne; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts for the County of Victoria.

Moses Craig to be a Justice of the Peace for Victoria County.

Enoch Bamford, Lewis Dunphy, John Scovil, John Campbell, John Newman, William Hartt, Francis M'Knight, Senior, John Nicholson, William C. Jones, John Sutton, Robert Bean, and John Johnston, (of Napan), to be Justices of the Peace for the County of Northumberland.

John Campbell, Ludlow; John M'Laggan, Blackville; William Swim, Blissfield; John Newman, Derby; William Masson, Newcastle; Robert P. Whitney, Northesk; Thomas Ambrose, Nelson; Robert Loggie, Junior, Alnwick; John M'Naughton, Glenelg; and William Williston, Senior, Hardwicke; to be Commissioners of Parish Courts in the County of Northumberland.

James M'Allister, W. H. Whitney, and John L. Harris, to be Members of the Board of School Trustees of Town of Moncton; James M'Allister to be Chairman of Board.

The Rev. W. W. Brewer, and James Hickson, Esquire, to be Trustees of the Grammar School, Bathurst.

Joseph H. Dickson and Albert J. Hickman to be Public Notaries.

Samuel A. Cameron to be Commissioner under the "Free Grants Act 1872," for the "Tilley" Settlement, Victoria.

H. P. Petersen to be Commissioner under the "Free Grants Act 1872," for the "New Denmark" Settlement, Victoria.

His Honor the Lieutenant Governor has been pleased to accept the resignation of Patrick Farrell as a Justice of the Peace for the County of Northumberland.

By Command of the Lieutenant Governor.

JNO. JAS. FRASER.

Secretary's Office, 8th August, 1876.

## INSOLVENT ACT OF 1875.

John J. Fraser and E. Byron Wińslow, Plaintiffs; and John Macpherson, Defendant.

A WRIT OF ATTACHMENT has issued in this cause. Dated at Fredericton the 5th day of August 1876.

E. BYRON WINSLOW, Official Assignee.