BY AUTHORITY.



S. L. TILLEY.

By His Honor The Honorable Sir SAMUEL LEONARD TILLEY, C.B., K.C.M.G., LL.D. Lieutenant Governor of the Province of New Brunswick.

PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS the General Assembly of this Province was convened the twelfth day of March last past, and continued its Sittings until this day, being the sixteenth day of April instant, I have thought fit to prorogue the said General Assembly, and the same is hereby prorogued accordingly to Thursday the twenty eighth day of May next.

Given under my Hand and Seal at Fredericton, the sixteenth day of April, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and ninety one, and in the fifty fourth year of Her Majesty's Reign.

By Command of the Lieutenant Governor. JAMES MITCHELL.

Government Notice.

HIS Honor the Lieutenant Governor has been pleased to grant License to the Reverend Frank C. Overbaugh, Pastor to the Churches of Christ on Deer Island, in the County of of Charlotte, to solemnize marriage under 43rd Victoria, Chapter 16.

JAMES MITCHELL. Provincial Secretary's Office, Fredericton, 18th April, 1891.

ROVINCIAL APPOINTMENTS.

His Honor the Lieutenant Governor has been pleased to

make the following appointments :----The Honorable Pascal Poirier to be a Notary Public.

Julius L. Inches, Esquire, to be Secretary for Agriculture. In the County of Madawaska,-

Beloni R. Violet to be a Coroner.

Louis Pelletier to be a Commissioner of the Parish of Saint Francis Civil Court.

In the City and County of Saint John,-George A. Hetherington, M. D., to be a Coroner.

In the County of York,-

Thomas II. Colter, M. P. P., Arthur Ross, and Richardson Boone, to be Justices of the Peace.

John Pugh to be a Justice of the Peace and Commissioner for the Parish of Douglas Civil Court.

In the County of Northumberland,-John M'Aleer, Thomas Ward Underhill, James Power,

George Vanderbeck, and Alexis Gogan, to be Justices of the Peace.

In the County of Carleton,-

Andraw M'Intyre, Robert Scott, Robert W. Tompkins, William E. Thistle, and Earnest Belyes, to be Justices of the Peace.

James Keenan to be a Coroner.

George Dixon to be an Issuer of Marriage Licenses. In the County of Charlotte,-

John B. Mark, Walter S. Magee, Arthur W. Cameron, and William Love, to be Justices of the Peace. John W. Mann to be Commissioner of the Parish of St.

James' Civil Court, in place of Hugh Morrison, resigned.

In King's County,-Oswald N. Price to be a Coroner.

William G. Cochran to be a Justice of the Peace

In the County of Restigouche,-

Harriet L. Johnson to be Division Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages, in place of Mrs. C. Roberts, deceased Patrick Doyle to be Free Grants Commissioner for Lorne

Settlement, in place of Thomas Hayes, removed. William Doherty, M. D. to be a Coroner.

Huntley F. M'Latchey to be Referee in Equity.

James F. Burns to be a Justice of the Peace and Commissioner of the Parish of Weldford Civil Court, in place of Robert Brown, who has left the Province.

Philip Wood, Bliss B. Bailey, Robert M'Crae, John S. Arsenault, and William W. Pride, to be Justices of the Peace

Benjamin S. Bailey to be an Issuer of Marriage Licenses. In the County of Westmorland,-

O E. Steeves, M. D., C. A. Allen, M. D., and W. Woodbury Wells, to be Coroners.

W. A. Schawartz to be a Member of the Board of School Trustees of the Town of Moncton, in place of Alexander Girvan, retired.

Ezekiel Taylor, Reuben Thompson, Jeptha L. Blakeney, Henry W. Jordan, Archibald M Kay, and Ernsst L. Ford, to be Justices of the Peace. official Notification

In the County of Gloucester,-

Joseph E. Poirier, Maxime M. Dugas, and Samuel Payne, to be Justices of the Peace.

Patrick J. Foley to be Labor Act Commissioner for the Parish of New Bandon.

Onesime Blanchard to be Commissioner of the Parish of New Bandon Civil Court, in the place of John Foley, deceased.

Nathaniel R. Richey to be Commissioner for the Parish of New Bandon Civil Court, in the place of John Hornibrook, deceased.

In Queen's County,-

Leverett A. Belyea, Alexander M'M. Thurcott, Daniel Palmer, Junior, and Scott M'Leod, to be Justices of the Peace

Walter S. Butler, Robert M'Mann, and Joseph A. Mott, to be Issuers of Marriage Licenses.

In the County of Victoria,-

William B. Hoyt to be Labor Act Commissioner. In the County of Albert .--

Ephraim A. Leaman, of Turtle Creek, in the Parish of Coverdale, to be Division Registrar of Births, Deaths and Marriages, in place of the Reverend I. W. Carpenter, resigned.

Henry Balser to be a Justice of the Peace.

JAMES MITCHELL.

Provincial Secretary's Office, Fredericton, 18th April, 1891.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE, 22nd April, 1891.

THE following is a List of the Acts passed at the recent Session of the Legislature :----

Passed 16th April, 1891.

An Act to provide for defraying certain expenses of the Civil Government of the Province,

An Act to provide for the repair and improvement of Roads and Bridges, and other Public Works and Services. An Act relating to the Provincial Lunatic Asylum and

its management, and to the property of Lunatics. An Act to amend the Highways Act 1886, and Chapter

13 of 53rd Victoria.

An Act to amend 52nd Victoria, Chapter 44, intituled "An Act to authorize the County Council of the Munici-pality of York to assess in aid of the Victoria Hospital in the City of Fredericton."

An Act to authorize the County Council of the Municipality of York to issue Debentures to take up other Debentures.

An Act in amendment of Chapter 37 of the Consolidated Statutes, relating to Proceedings and Practice in the Supreme Court.

An Act relating to Mines and Minerals.

An Act to authorize a Loan to meet the Cost of the Importation of Cattle and Sheep.

An Act to continue and amend an Act to incorporate the Chamcook Water Company.

An Act to incorporate the Church of the Messiah in the City of Saint John.

An Act respecting the Office of Queen's Printer and the Public Printing. An Act in further amendment of Chapter 65 of the Con-

67