

## Gazette.

Vol. 56.]

FREDERICTON, N. B., WEDNESDAY, APRIL 6, 1898.

PAGE 68

Official Notifications appearing in this Paper, duly authenticated, are to be received as such by all whom they may concern.

## BY AUTHORITY.



By His Honor The Honorable ABNER REID McClelan, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of New Brunswick.

A. R. McCLELAN.

PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS the General Assembly of this Province was convened on the tenth day of February last past, and continued its Sittings until this day, being the eighteenth day of March instant, I have thought fit further to prorogue the said General Assembly, and the same is hereby prorogued accordingly to Thursday the twenty-first day of April next.

Given under my Hand and Seal at Fredericton, the twenty-third day of March in the year of our Lord one thousand

third day of March, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and ninety-eight, and in the sixty-first year of Her Majesty's Reign.

By Command of the Lieutenant-Governor.

L. J. TWEEDIE.

## PROVINCIAL APPOINTMENTS.

His Honor the Lieutenant-Governor has been pleased to make the following appointments:

In the County of Albert,-

Mariner T. Steeves to be a Justice of the Peace.

In the County of Carleton,—
Edmund R. Squires to be a Commissioner of the Parish of
Wicklow Civil Court, in room of Matthew Hutchinson,

George F. Burpee, Samuel S. Miller, Elijah Olts, Edward E. Kearney, John Smith, James R. Dalling, Fraser Dalling, John Bloodsworth, Thomas H. Belyea, Joseph A. Robinson, and Riley Gillen, to be Justices of the Peace.

In the County of Charlotte,— Lewis A. Mills to be a Commissioner of the Parish of Saint

Stephen Civil Court, in room of Daniel Crilley, resigned.

J. Warren Wooster, Daniel Sullivan, Frederick Hannah,
Moses L. Hovey, Henry Allen Lyle, Robert Bell, John Dixon, and Edward Simpson, to be Justices of the Peace.

In the County of Gloucester,—
William C. Murphy, George J. Theriault, Angus J. S.
Branch, Joseph D. Paulin, and Edward M. Gibbs, to be Justices of the Peace.

In the County of Kent,—
Jude P. Breau, Davis H. Johnson, Calixte Daigle, Permilite
Johnson, Leon Daigle, Abina M. Cormier, and Robert Murphy, to be Justices of the Peace.

In the County of King's,—
William McMahon, Thomas A. Kelly, James H. Jeffries,
Lee F. Corey, R. Chillis McMonagle, and Alfred Whelpley, to
be Justices of the Peace.

Thomas A. Gilliland to be a Member of the Board of the Almshouse Commissioners and Chairman of said Board, in room of D. Beverly Hatfield, resigned.

In the County of Madawaska,tte Levite Soussie, Regist Theriault, Jeochin Theriault, and George Pelletier, to be Jus-

George Pelletier to be Labor Act Commissioner for the Parish of Saint Francis.

In the County of Northumberland,-William A. Brown to be an Issuer of Marriage Licenses.

In the County of Queen's,—
James H. F. Ward, William H. Brown, Murray A. Noddin,
Robert McMann, W. Teed Inch, Roland H. Corey, and Williard J. Colwell, to be Justices of the Peace.
William H. White, George E. McLean, James F. Roberts,
Elmer E. Crandall, and Walter S. Butler, to be Commissioners
for taking Affidavits to be read in the Supreme Court.

for taking Affidavits to be read in the Supreme Court.

In the County of Sunbury,—
George F. Harper to be a Justice of the Peace.

In the City and County of Saint John,-Frank L. Kenny to be a Coroner.

In the County of Westmorland,-

Thomas R. Campbell, Philip J. Gaudet, LeBaron Drury Lockhart, Ambroise D. Cormier, Thomas Murray, Andre J. Belliveau, Theophile F. Gautreau, and Dominique B. Cormier, to be Justices of the Peace.

James McQueen, of Shediac, to be Police Magistrate for the County of Westmorland, with civil jurisdiction within the Parish of Shediac, in room of Narcisse D. LeBlanc, resigned.

In the County of York,—

Hedley F. Grosvenor to be a Justice of the Peace and a Commissioner of the Parish of Canterbury Civil Court, in room of P. Girdwood, removed from the County.

George S. Peters to be Justice of the Small Debt Court of Fredericton, in room of S. A. Purdie, deceased.

Charles W. Green, Clarence E. Boise, Joseph Gartley, and Gordon C. Grant, to be Justices of the Peace.

Robert Fairley to be an Issuer of Marriage Licenses.

Robert Fairley to be an Issuer of Marriage Licenses

Joseph L. Allan to be Police Magistrate for the Town of Marysville.

George D. Fox, Eljiah Bell, Robert Murdoch, George Armstrong, Joseph Thorburn, Archie McMullen, James Pringle, Alexander Haining, and Hugh G. Nealis, to be Justices of the

Provincial Secretary's Office, Fredericton, 6th April, 1898.

L. J. TWEEDIE.

Fredericton, 5th March, 1898. His Honor the Lieutenant Governor directs the publication of the following for general information:

AT THE COURT AT OSBORNE HOUSE, ISLE OF WIGHT,

The 3rd day of February, 1898.

## PRESENT.

The Queen's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

WHEREAS by sub-section (1) of section 238 of "The Merchant Shipping Act, 1894," it is provided that, where it appears the Her Majesty that due facilities are, or will be, given by the Government of any foreign country for recovering and apprehending seamen who desert from British merchant ships in that country, Her Majesty may, by Order in Council, stating that such facilities are or will be given, declare that that section shall apply in the case of such for-eign country, subject to any limitations, conditions, and qualifications contained in the order:

And whereas it appears to Her Majesty that due facilities are given by the Government of Japan for recovering and apprehending seamen who desert from British merchant-ships in that country:

Now, Therefore, Her Majesty, by virtue of the power vested in Her by the herein-before recited sub-section (1) of section 238 of "The Merchant Shipping Act, IS94," and by and with the advice of Her Privy Council, is pleased to order and declare, and it is hereby ordered and declared, that the said section 238 of "The Merchant Shipping Act, 1894," shall apply in the case of Japan.

And whereas the immediate operation of this order is urgent; this Order shall come into operation forthwith, and shall be a Provisional Order within the meaning of "The Rules Publication Act, 1893.

And the Secretary of State for the Home Department, the Secretary of State for the Colonies, and the Secretary of State for India in Council, are to give the necessary directions herein accordingly.

4ins

C. L. PEEL.